A Nod to John McCain

Although I dislike the man and am frightened at the aspect of him becoming president, I must say that I respect his recent comments. At a recent rally in Minnesota, he quelled the angry and frightened words of a couple supporters:

Obama has built a lead of between five and 10 percentage points in recent public opinion polls.  McCain was booed at a rally in (the North Central state of) Minnesota on Friday, when he tried to reassure one man about Obama’s character.

Man: “We are scared.  We are scared of an Obama presidency.”
McCain: “I want to be President of the United States, and obviously, I do not want Senator Obama to be.  But, I have to tell you, he is a decent person and a person that you do not have to be scared of as President of the United States.”

At the same rally, McCain took the microphone away from a woman who had implied that Obama was un-American.

Woman: “I cannot trust Obama.  I have read about him, and….he is an Arab.”
McCain: “No, ma’am.  No, ma’am.  He is a decent family man (and) citizen that I just happen to have disagreements with on fundamental issues.”

From VOA News

This is a good thing, because there are people out there who believe all the tabloid news and internet and word-of-mouth rumor, such as the second person who thought that Obama was an Arab. Although, I have to imagine that a good deal of this is due to the backlash the McCain/Palin campaign is receiving because of the angry words and racial epithets concerning Obama thrown about at recent rallies. Obama responded to McCain at a rally in Pennsylvania:

“I appreciated his reminder that we can disagree while still being respectful of each other.”

From NY Daily News

It’s good to know that there can still remain a modicum of civility in this crazy campaign.

